Orlando DUI Defense Attorney
Drunk Driving: Driving Under The Influence (DUI)
Every year in the state of Florida thousands of people are pulled over for driving under the influence (DUI). A common misconception is that you can only be charged with DUI if you are drinking and driving. While it is true that you can be charged with a DUI if you are drinking and driving it is also true that you may be charged if you are operating a motor vehicle under the influence of drugs as well.
A person can be guilty of the offense of driving under the influence (DUI) and is subject to punishment if the person is driving or in actual physical control of a vehicle within this state and the person is under the influence of alcoholic beverages, or any chemical substance or controlled substance set out in Florida law, when the person is affected to the extent that the person’s normal facilities are impaired.
Central Florida es a boating paradise and boating under the influence charges are not uncommon. Under Florida law operating a watercraft while intoxicated is a criminal offense. If you are caught doing so, you will be charged with Boating Under the Influence, or BUI.
Law Enforcement and Prosecuting Attorneys can use observations of the driver at the time of the arrest performing field sobriety tests or blood and breath tests to prove the charge of DUI. Drivers are presumed to have lost control of the normal faculties needed to drive when:
- The person has a blood-alcohol level of 0.08 or more grams of alcohol per 100 milliliters of blood, or
- The person has a breath alcohol level of 0.08 or more grams of alcohol per 210 liters of breath
DUI - Penalties And Other Consequences Under Florida Law
The punishments for driving under the influence in Florida are as follows:
DUI - First time offense
- Any person who is convicted of driving under the influence for the first time shall be punished by a fine of Not less than $500 or more than $1,000 and no more than six months imprisonment
DUI - Second time offense
- Any person who is convicted of a second driving under the influence charge will have an ignition interlock device placed in their car for at least year at the violators expense and can receive a fine of Not less than $1,000 or more than $2000 and no more than nine months imprisonment
DUI - Third time offense
- Any person who is convicted of a third driving under the influence charge within ten years of the last driving under the influence charge can be charged with a third degree felony and will have an ignition interlock device placed in their car for no less than two years at the violators expense.
Additional consequences may include:
- DUI School
- Completion of a victim awareness program
- Vehicle impoundment
- Driver's license suspension
- Community service
DUI Defense - Some Options In Florida
The DUI Lawyers at LaBar & Adams routinely handle driving under the influence cases and are more than capable of handling your DUI charge. There are a variety of options available to you in defenses to your DUI. We will also use our knowledge of DUI pretrial diversion program to see if you qualify!
Getting a DUI charge dropped, dismissed, or obtain a verdict of "not guilty" may often hinge on a single detail. Our attorneys will review all of the evidence and witness statements to find answers to these and other important questions:
- Were the blood or breath test results accurate?
- Were the breath test results compromised in any way?
- Were field sobriety tests performed according to protocol?
- Did the arresting officer have probable cause to pull over the vehicle?
- Did the arresting officer report all details accurately?
- Was the defendant exhibiting impaired driving?
- Were the defendant's constitutional rights violated?
Call the experienced Orlando DUI attorneys at LaBar & Adams today and let’s talk about your options.
Contact Our Orlando DUI Lawyers
An arrest for driving while under the influence (DUI) or drunk driving charges can threaten your driving privileges and cost a substantial amount of money in fines. Moreover, if you are found guilty, it will have long lasting consequences. If a person dies as a result of an accident while driving under the influence then you may even face DUI manslaughter charges! DUI Charges are taken very seriously by Florida prosecutors. It is critical that you contact us immediately. Time is of essence. Call us today Toll free at 866-680-4LAW or email us using the online form provided at the top of this page and one of our highly knowledgeable Orlando DUI attorneys will contact you shortly. We will carefully check every aspect of your DUI traffic stop and DUI arrest to determine if your rights were violated at any point in the process. We value your privacy and will keep your information strictly confidential.
- Debate Rages About Drunk Driving Checkpoint Apps for Smartphones
- Florida police officer passes field sobriety test after wrong-way crash
- Illegal Florida DUI Checkpoint Leads to Dismissed Drunk Driving Charges
- Will police need warrants before taking forcible blood tests?
- What Is DUI Pretrial Diversion?
- Who Is Eligible For A Pretrial Diversion Program And DUI Dismissal?
- What Are The Standard DUI Field Sobriety Tests?
- Am I Required To Take The Field Sobriety Tests?
- Can I Challenge The Results Of The Field Sobriety Tests?
- Am I Required To Take A Breathalyzer Test?
- Can Breathalyzer Tests Be Challenged?
- Can I Be Charged With DUI If My BAC Was Below .08?
- Was The DUI Traffic Stop Legal?
- Which are the Consequences Of A DUI Manslaughter Conviction?